REALLY easy Banana and Chocolate Chip Muffins

I am without doubt, more of a cook than a baker. I am impulsive in all things, and I find the exacting measurements and temperatures in baking all a bit tricky. I can do it, I just find myself preferring to do something else with my time! I also like to throw something together, on a bit of a wing and a prayer and find its turned into something marvellous! That is not my experience of baking – its too specific and so many things can go wrong, it can make me anxious – wondering what is going to appear when I finally open the Aga door!

So anyway, that is why I like these little fellas. Everything can be thrown into the bowl in one hit, mixed well and thrown in the oven. Simples.

Also, you can put whatever you like in them. I had two over-ripe bananas and some chocolate buttons in the house. But you could add blueberries, toffee chunks – whatever grabs your fancy.

Set the over to 180 degrees and line a 12 muffin tray with cases.

200g self-raising flour

100g butter or margerine

150g caster sugar

100g choc chips or other filling

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

2 really ripe bananas mashed up

3 tablespoons milk (full fat or semi skimmed 2%)

sift the flour into a large bowl and then add all of the other ingredients. Mix really really well (preferably in a mixer – I love my Kitchenaid). you don’t want any lumps and bumps.

Spread the mixture evenly between the muffin cases. I like it when I fill them quite high and they come over the top in the cooking.

Bake for 25 mins approx. They should rise really well. and be firm on top. pop a skewer in if unsure. if it comes out clean you are good to go!

Cool and eat them up! This batch went very fast in the office this week.

Leave a Reply

